Lee Jr.




On the 16th of April, 1861, three days after the Confederates fired upon Fort Sumter, at the entrance of Charleston Harbor, a large number of loyal and patriotic citizens of Camden City and County issued the following vigorous and spirited response to the President's proclamation:

" To the President Of the United States:

"The unparalleled events of the last week have revealed to the citizens of the United States, beyond question or the possibility of a doubt, that peaceful reconciliation upon the form of our Con­stitution is repelled and scorned, and secession means, in the hearts of its supporters, both Trea­son and war against our Country and Nation.

" We, therefore, the undersigned Loyal Citizens of the United States, and inhabitants of the city of Camden, in the State of New Jersey, responding to the proclamation of the President of the United States, hereby declare our unalterable determination to sustain the government in its efforts to maintain the honor, the integrity and the existence of our National Union and the perpetuity of the popular Government, and to redress the wrongs already long enough endured; no differences of political opinion; no badge of diversity upon points of party distinction, shall restrain or withhold us in the devotion of all we have or can command to the vindication of the Constitution, the maintenance of the laws and the defense of the Flag Of our Country."

I. S. Mulford
E. R. Johnson
Louis L. Scovel
B. M. Braker
Joseph C. Nichols
Elwood C. Fortiner
Joseph Vautier
Edmund Brewer
Uriah Norcross
Isaac L. Lowe
Henry B. Goodwin
Richard W. Test
James M. Cassady
John Duprey
Jesse Pratt.
Hamilton Johnston
Charles P. Dickinson
Richard H. Lee
C. G. Zimmerman
Thomas M. K. Lee, Jr.
Charles J. Sanders

Samuel S. E. Cowperthwait
James M. Scovel
S. C. Harbert
John S. Read
D. H. Erdman
Adam Angel
George W. Vanhorn
Charles S. Garrett
Thomas M. Barracliff
W. H. Saunders
Jacob Harman, Jr. 
Charles K. Horsfall
Timothy Middleton
William W. Sloan
Charles Cloud
A. W. Test

C. A. S. Driesback
Henry Schock
Walter Patton
Azael Roberts
Thomas Jeffries

O. Gilbert Hannah              
John T. F. Peak               
Samuel O. Cooper    
J. C. De Lacour
Edward T. Andrews            Conclin Mayhey
William Reynolds 
Simon Rammell
H. H. Goldsmith
John Horsfall
Thomas H. Dudley  
Robert Folwell        
Edw. H. Saunders
James O. Morgan
David H. Sheppard
Richard Fetters
Charles C. Reeves
S. H. Grey
N. B. Stokes

S. O. Wright
Joseph Dlinston
David Creary
John R. Barber

James H. Denny
William R. Maxwell
Robert Wible

Hamilton William
George W. Jackson
Joseph Maurer
Joseph D. Brown
William S. Scull  
Daniel Witham
Isaac Shreeve 
Adam Hare
George Wardell
Joseph Coffman
George W. Conrow   

Joshua Howell
Martin Grey
S. L. Wayne
Abner Sparks
Van T. Shivers
Westcott Campbell. 
William J. Taylor
Isaiah Norcross
Alden O. Scovel
Philip J. Gray 
George W. Gilbert
Charles D. Hineline
Thomas H. Davis
Charles De Haven
Thomas Ackley
John Gill
James B. Dayton
James M. Stevens
Joseph French
George Campbell
A. A. Merry
 E. Wells
William D. Clark
William B. Hatch
E. O. Jackson
A. B. Martin
Richard O. Robertson
Timothy O. Moore
George W.
Robert Schall
Reynell Coates
Aaron Hewit
Henry Shuster
William Hartsgrove
William B. French
W. A. Winchester
John M. Natty

In response to a call, on the 18th of April an enthusiastic meeting was held in the county court-house, which was formed of a large collection of prominent citizens. The court-room was decorated with flags and mottoes. John W. Mickle was chosen president and Samuel C. Harbert and Thomas G. Rowand secretaries. The president addressed the meeting first and Rev. Mr. Monroe offered a prayer. Hon. Thomas P. Carpenter, Thomas B. Atkinson (mayor) and Joseph Painter were appointed a committee on resolutions. Judge Philip J. Grey addressed the meeting, after which the committee adopted a long series of patriotic resolutions. The Washington Grays, Stockton Cadets and the Zouaves marched into the room and were received with cheers, Samuel Hufty read a resolution which was signed by many persons, who immediately formed the Home Brigade. David M. Chambers, Captain Stafford, Benjamin M. Braker, John H. Jones and E. A. Acton each addressed the meeting. James M. Scovel was then called upon and responded in eloquent terms and with patriotic energy. S. H. Grey offered a resolution, which was adopted, that the City Council and the Freeholders of the county be requested to appropriate money for the equipment of persons who may volunteer in defense of the country, and S. H. Grey, James M. Cassady and Joseph Painter were appointed a committee to look after the interests of the resolution. The meeting continued in session until eleven p.m.

The following is derived from
George Reeser Prowell's
History of Camden County, N.J.
published in 1886

Captain Thomas M.K. Lee Jr. early in 1861, identified himself with the troops who volunteered from the city of Camden. He enlisted as a private in Company F, Fourth Regiment New Jersey Volunteer Militia; was promoted sergeant and served with the regiment until discharged at expiration of term of service, July 31, 1861. He enlisted August 9, 1861, in Company I, Sixth Regiment New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, for three years.  September 9, 1861, he was commissioned first lieutenant of the company; and, on January 16, 1863, was commissioned as captain of Company K of his regiment. He commanded the regiment from Spottsylvania Courthouse VA, to North Anna River ; was detailed judge advocate on the staff of Brigadier General McAllister, commanding Third Brigade, Third Division, Second Army Corps, and as the same under Major General Gershom Mott. He was mustered out with his regiment September 7, 1864.

With his regiment he participated in the following battles :

 Siege of Yorktown VA, April and May, 1862

Williamsburg VA, May 5, 1862

Fair Oaks, June 1 and 2, 1862

Seven Pines VA, June 25, 1862

Savage Station.  VA, June 29, 1862

Malvern Hill VA, July 1, 1862

Bristow Station VA, August 27,1862

Second Bull Eun, August29,1862

Chantilly VA, September 1, 1862

Centreville VA, September 2, 1862

Fredericksburg VA, Decem­ber 13 and 14, 1862

Chancellorsville VA, May 3 and 4,1862

Gettysburg, Pa., July 2 and 3, 1863

Wapping Heights VA, October 15 1863

Mine RunVA, November 29 and 30, 1863

Wilderness VA, May 5 to 7, 1864

Spottsylvania VA, May 8 to 11, 1864

Spottsylvania Courthouse VA, May 12 to 18, 1864

North Anna River VA, May 23 to 24, 1864

Tolopotomy Creek VA, May 30, 1864

Cold Harbor VA, June 1 to 5, 1864

Petersburg VA, June 16 to 23, 1864

Deep Bottom VA, July 25 to 27,1864

Mine Explosion VA, July 30,1864

North Bank James River VA, August 14 to 18, 1864

Ream's Station VA, August 25, 1864

Captain Lee was wounded in the head at battle of Chancellorsville, and was wounded in face and neck at battle of Spottsylvania. He returned to Camden after the war and was elected, in 1865, as county clerk, and held the position for five years. He died December 10, 1873, aged thirty-seven years, and was buried in Evergreen Cemetery. A wife and one child survive him.

In January of 1876, a Grand Army of the Republic Post was organized in Camden NJ. At the first meeting of the new post, it was unanimously decided to honor Captain Lee by adopting the name Thomas M.K. Lee Post. The Thomas M.K. Lee Post No. 5, Grand Army of the Republic had among its members several prominent Camden residents, including Mahlon F. Ivins Sr., Benjamin D. Coley (who had served under Captain Lee with Company K, 6th New Jersey Infantry Regiment), George R, Danenhower, Dr. John W. Donges, and Dr. Henry Genet Taylor. 

Camden Democrat * September 28, 1872
Abraham Lower - James M. Cassady - John Sands - Howard Lee - Thomas M.K. Lee - Samuel M. Gaul
William Lee - Boston Peter - Michael Kelly - William Osburn - George Gilbert - Josiah S. Hackett
 George Goetz - Goetz's Hotel - 336
Plum (Arch) Street